Ramla and Ramat Hasharon find out their opponents for the upcoming EuroCup season

Aug 9, 2023 | Holyland Hoops

On Wednesday, the draw for the 2023-24 EuroLeague Women and EuroCup Women was held in Munich, Germany, with two Israeli teams discovering their opponents for the upcoming EuroCup season.

Elizur Landco Ramla has been placed in a Group E with Basket Namur Capitale (Belgium), SL Benfica (Portugal) and Caledonia Gladiators (Great Britain), while Ramat Hasharon was placed in Group D with Lattes-Montpellier (France), Lointek Gernika Bizkaia (Spain) and MB Zaglebie Sosnowiec (Poland).

The Regular Season will consist of 12 groups, with four clubs in each group and a maximum of one group per country in the same group. The groups were drawn based on seedings 1-4 based on the teams’ performances in European Club Competitions over the past three seasons, with Ramla seeded 1 and Ramat Hasharon seeded 3.

“Every draw is difficult until you get through it,” Ramla coach Daniel Gutt said of their group. “Our opponents’ rosters are new, as is ours. The key will be in the preparation and the time that it will take us to take shape as a team. Only after we see the rosters and results of the preparation games, we will know, but I’m always optimistic.”

The Qualifiers for the final six spots in the competition will be determined based on home and away series to take place between September 20 and September 28.

The losers of the following fixtures will participate in the EuroCup competition, while the winners will advance to the 16-team EuroLeague competition: DVTK Hun-Therm Miskolc (Hungary) vs London Lions (Great Britain); TTT Riga (Latvia) vs ACS Sepsi-SIC (Romania); and MKS Polkowice (Poland) vs Besiktas (Turkey).

At the other end of the EuroCup, the winners of the following fixtures advancing: MBK Ruzomberok (Slovakia) vs SBS Ostrava (Czech Republic); Sportiva Azoris Hotels (Portugal) vs 07 Antalya Basketbol (Turkey); and Eleftheria Moschatou (Greece) vs Universitatea Cluj-Napoca (Romania).

EuroCup Regular Season Groups
Group A: Flammes Carolo Basket (France), Cadi La Seu (Spain), Zabiny Brno (Czech Republic) and winner of Eleftheria Moschatou (Greece)/Universitatea Cluj-Napoca (Romania).
Group B: Spar Girona (Spain), InvestInTheWest Enea Gorzow (Poland), Piestanske Cajky (Slovakia) and T71 Diddeleng (Luxembourg).
Group C: Galatasaray Cagdas Factoring (Turkey), Angers (France), Kibirkstis (Lithuania) and CSM Constanta (Romania).
Group D: Lattes-Montpellier (France), Lointek Gernika Bizkaia (Spain), Ramat Hasharon (Israel) and MB Zaglebie Sosnowiec (Poland).
Group E: Loser of MKS Polkowice (Poland)/Besiktas (Turkey), Kangoeroes Basket Mechelen (Belgium), Panathinaikos A.C. (Greece) and Slavia Banska Bystrica (Slovakia).
Group F: Loser of TTT Riga (Latvia)/ACS Sepsi-SIC (Romania), Olympiacos SFP (Greece), Kayseri Basketbol (Turkey) and winner of MBK Ruzomberok (Slovakia)/SBS Ostrava (Czech Republic).
Group G: Elitzur Landco Ramla (Israel), Basket Namur Capitale (Belgium), SL Benfica (Portugal) and Caledonia Gladiators (Great Britain).
Group H: Tango Bourges Basket (France), KP TANY Brno (Czech Republic), BBC Grengewald Hueschtert (Luxembourg) and winner Sportiva Azoris Hotels (Portugal)/07 Antalya Basketbol (Turkey).
Group I: Loser of DVTK Hun-Therm Miskolc (Hungary)/London Lions (Great Britain), Castors Braine (Belgium), Rutronik Stars Keltern (Germany) and GDESSA – Barreiro (Portugal).
Group J: Umana Reyer Venezia (Italy), NKA Universitas Pecs (Hungary), Bursa Uludag Basketbol (Turkey) and ZKK Ragusa Dubrovnik (Croatia).
Group K: KSC Szekszard (Hungary), Movistar Estudiantes (Spain), BDS Dinamo Sassari (Italy) and BK Lehvarti Chomutov (Czech Republic).
Group L: BCF Elfic Fribourg (Switzerland), VBW Arka Gdynia (Poland), Roche Vendee BC (France) and Emlak Konut SK (Turkey).

Sign up for our newsletter


You may also like…


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!