Maccabi Tel Aviv Champions of Israel – Israel Premier League MD28 Recaps & Highlights

Maccabi Tel Aviv won the Israel Premier League championship with a 1:0 victory over Maccabi Haifa. Aaron Schoenfeld’s 55th minute goal off an Omer Atzili corner was the difference maker to win the 23rd title in club history. The championship was the fastest ever and the first to be won in the month of March. The yellow-and-blue now turn their sights to their State Cup semifinal matchup against Bnei Yehuda on Wednesday evening as the club will look to win the Treble just as the did in the 2014/15 season.

Hapoel Beer Sheva dominated Hapoel Hadera 4:1 at the Netanya Stadium. Hadera grabbed the lead in the 9th minute when Lucio put the ball into the goal off an Eliel Peretz corner, a strike that held up until the 73rd minute. However, that’s when the visitor’s got down to work as Ben Sahar headed home the equalizer off a Maor Meliskon cross and then took the lead three minutes later when Nigel Hasselbaink put in a Nir Zrihen rebound. The Beer Sheva added two injury time goals thanks to Sahar for his second of the contest off a Marwan Kabha through ball and by Hasselbaink who also recorded a brace in the win.

Ashdod defeated Kiryat Shemona 3:2 at the port city for a crucial three points in their battle against relegation. Sagiv Yehezkel opened the scoring in the 15th minute when he slotted home the ball past Džiugas Bartkus for a 1:0 lead but Kiryat Shemona drew even 11 minutes later when Eden Shamir beat Yoav Gerafi. In the 28th minute Ismaeel Ryan curled the ball into the Ashdod goal to give the visitor’s a surprise 2:1 advantage but Ashdod found the equalizer just before the break due to a controversial penalty that Roie Gordana scored. As time wound down, Dean David scored the winner off a Yuval Shpungin cross to take the victory.

Bnei Yehuda and Maccabi Netanya drew 1:1 at the Moshava Stadium. Jonathan Bornstein sent a scorcher from 25 meters out that surprised Bnei Yehuda keeper Emilias Zubas handing Netanya a 1:0 lead while the host’s found the trying goal in the second half via Yuval Ashkenazi to split the points.

Maccabi Petah Tikva hosted Hapoel Raanana at the Moshava Stadium and drew 1:1. Gidi Kanuk scored in the 44th minute from outside of the box beating keeper Asaf Tzur to give the host’s a slim lead ahead of the break. However, Kayes Ganem headed in a Yoav Tomer cross in the 55th minute to draw even and split the points.

In a relegation battle between two foes, Beitar Jerusalem and Bnei Sakhnin played to a goalless draw at Teddy Stadium in the nation’s capital. Beitar are six points above the relegation zone while Sakhnin are mired in last place.

Hapoel Tel Aviv and Hapoel Haifa wrapped up Matchday 28 playing to a listless goalless draw at Sammy Ofer Stadium as the sides split the points.

Sign up for our newsletter


You may also like…


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!