Israel Basketball League continues preparations to return to action! Plus all the transactions & More!

May 12, 2020 | Holyland Hoops

Foreign players will be allowed into Israel after a number of government offices including the Ministry of Culture and Sports, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Interior Ministry have arranged for all necessary permits upon their arrival to the country.

Interior Minister Aryeh Deri formally signed off on the regulation allowing the re-entry of foreign players who had been in the country before the coronavirus break as well as new impost signings.

On Tuesday, a number of teams were having difficulties in obtaining work permits for new import players, however, the Administration of Border Crossings, Population and Immigration issued instructions to do so.

The Basketball League was pleased to see updates that new foreigners are being signed and that some of the top players such as Darryl Monroe, Jordan Hamilton and Dominic Waters will be returning as well in order to provide the teams with solid rosters when the season returns to action.

In addition, the Israel Basketball Association will allow teams to sign Leumit players upon the completion of their season.

League Chairman Shmuel Frankel said, ”I want to thank all of the government bodies for their tremendous help; everyone is committed to returning the league to action. I especially want to thank the Miri Regev, the Minister of Culture and Sports as well as Yossi Sharabi the CEO of the Sports MInistry and his head of staff Guy Inbar who is our liaison to all of the government bodies. They are doing a great job in helping the official return of the Winner Basket League. I am proud of the teams and all those who are engaged in pushing this along as there was no doubt that the population was missing Israeli basketball and I am glad that everyone is working hard to prepare the teams for the return of the league.”

A number of new players will be joining the league as guard Desi Washington signed with Hapoel Holon for the balance of the 2019/20 campaign with an option for next season and Tim Coleman inked with Hapoel Gilboa Galil while Michael Young will also return.

Dominic Waters and Diamon Simpson will be back at Nahariya while Darryl Monroe, Alex Hamilton and D’Angelo Harrison will return to Maccabi Rishon Le’Zion.

“I’m happy that three key foreign players are back to finish the season with us,” said Rishon Coach Guy Goodes. “This shows the connection and commitment to the club, their teammates and the fans who will support us for now from afar. It’s not a given that these players would leave their families to come to play sports and specifically basketball at this time. Thank you.”

Dov Halickman Photography

Sign up for our newsletter


You may also like…


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!